Cnoc a Chalmain

The Colmcille Trust

Use the tabs above to navigate the site.

"Cnoc a' Chalmain" is the trading address of The Colmcille Trust,
a charity registered in Scotland under registration number SC018882.
Registered Office: House of Prayer, Isle of Iona,
Argyll PA76 6SP.

The purpose of the Trust, founded in July 1991, is to further the cause of Christian Unity through the development and establishment of a permanent Roman Catholic presence on the Isle of Iona, Argyll.

Click for a full history of the foundation of the Trust and the building of Cnoc a' Chalmain.

The Trustees

Mr Neil MacInnes Mrs Anne Wilson Miss Mary Margaret Wilson Mrs Kathleen Hughes
Mr Neil MacInnes Mrs Anne Wilson Miss Mary Margaret Wilson Mrs Kathleen Hughes (Chair)

Mr Neil MacInnesIsle of Mull
Mrs Anne Wilson B.A., LLB. Hons.Isle of Mull
Miss Mary Margaret Wilson Dip.Ed. D.L.D.Dundee
Mrs Kathleen Hughes B.A., Dip.Ed. (Chair)West Sussex

Mrs Judith Spellman from Lochdon on Mull was appointed as a fifth Trustee in January 2002. In 2004 Mr Callum Kennedy retired and the Trust suffered the sad loss of The Hon. Frances Shand-Kydd, who did so much to establish the House of Prayer. Please pray for the repose of her soul.

Mr Neil MacInnes and Mrs Anne Wilson of Mull and Mrs Kathleen Hughes of Chichester were appointed as Trustees in 2004.

In 2007 Charles Hughes and Judith Spellman retired from the Trust. Miss Mary Margaret Wilson of Dundee and Ms Philippa Whitford from Troon were appointed as Trustees.

It was with real sadness that the Board of Trustees also said goodbye to Mary Burn-Murdoch when she retired in April 2007. Mary was the lady who had the original vision for the House of Prayer, overseeing its foundation and continuing to give inspiration to those who worked for the Trust. She was a quiet, warm, modest person but who had tremendous drive and enthusiasm. An accomplished artist, Mary left a legacy to the house in a visual sense with her paintings, some of which adorn the walls but she also left the sense of her spirit and faith which continues to be a motivation for those who carry on her work. Mary died in Edinburgh on 29th April 2012 and a tribute to her appears on the News page.

On the retirement of Philippa Whitford, Lord James Gordon of Strathblane joined the Board of Trustees.


The Right Reverend Kevin Pearson, Episcopal Bishop of Argyll and the Isles
Charles R Hughes, B.Arch(Hons) MSc RIBA
Reverend Father Michael Hickey, B.A.

The Present Warden

Maureen Connell has been appointed as Warden as of July 2017.

Previous Warden

Sister Jean Lawson rscj took over as Warden in September 2002. A member of the Sacred Heart community in Aberdeen, she worked at the Aberdeen Royal Infirmary for many years as a member of the ecumenical chaplaincy team.


If you would like to make a donation towards the maintenance and continuing work of Cnoc a' Chalmain, please contact the Warden:

e-mail:     or phone: 01681 700369

UK Taxpayers only: to enable the Trust to recover the tax paid on your donation,
click here to download a Gift Aid Declaration form.
The form should be completed and sent to the Warden.

Online shopping raises money for the Trust

Have you heard about easyfundraising yet? It’s the easiest way to help raise money for The Colmcille Trust! If you already shop online with retailers such as Amazon, Argos, John Lewis, Comet, iTunes, eBay or HMV, then we need you to sign up for free to raise money while you shop! Full details are on our Home page.